Important Cups and Trophies List


Important Cups and Trophies List


Sports Name Cups & Trophies
Cricket Ashes Series
Asia Cup
Benson and Hedges
C. K. Naidu Trophy
Coach Behar Trophy
Deodhar Trophy
Duleep Trophy
G. D. Birla Trophy
Ghulam Ahmed Trophy
ICC Champions Trophy
ICC World Cup
Irani Trophy
Moinuddowla Gold Cup
MRF World Cup
Nehru Cup (Jawaharlal Nehru Cup)
Rani Jhansi Trophy
Ranji Trophy
Reliance Cup
Rohinton Baria Trophy
Rothman’s Trophy
Sahara Cup
Sheesh Mahal Trophy
Vijay Merchant Trophy
Vizzy Trophy
Wills Trophy
Football Bandodkar Trophy
Chakra Gold Trophy
Colombo Cup
D. C. M. Trophy
Dr. B. C. Roy Trophy
Dr. B.C. Roy Trophy: Football (Junior)
Durand Cup
Durand Cup, F. A. Cup
European Champions Cup
F. A. Shield
FA Cup
Federation Cup
FIFA World Cup
G.V. Raja Memorial Trophy
IFA Shield
Jules Rimet Trophy
Kalinga Cup
Merdeka Cup
Najee Trophy
Nixon Gold Cup
Raghbir Singh Memorial Cup
Rovers Cup
Sanjay Gold Cup
Santosh Trophy (National Football)
Scissor Cup
Sir Ashutosh Mukherjee Trophy
Subrata Mukherjee Cup (National school football)
Subroto Cup
Todd Memorial Trophy
Vittal Trophy
Hockey Agha Khan Cup
Beighton Cup
Bombay Gold Cup
Dhyan Chand Trophy
Essandre Champions Cup
Gurmeet Trophy
Guru Nanak Championship
Gurunanak Championship (Women’s )
Gyanuati Devi Trophy
Hockey World Cup
Indira Gold Cup
Kuppuswamy Naidu Trophy
Lady Ratan Tata Trophy
Indira Gold Cup
MCC Trophy
Modi Gold Cup
Murugappa Gold Cup
Nehru Trophy
Nehru Trophy (Hockey Women’s)
Obaid Ullah Gold Cup
Rangaswami Cup
Rangaswami Cup (National HockeChampionship)
Ranjit Singh Gold Cup
Rene Frank Trophy
Sahni Trophy
Scindia Gold Cup
Tommy Eman Gold Cup
Badminton Agarwal Cup
Amrit Diwan Cup
Chadha Cup
Divan Cup
Ibrahim Rahimatillah Challenger Cup
Lady Ratan Tata Trophy
Maharaja Ranjit Singh Gold Cup
Narang Cup
Thomas Cup
Tunku Abdul-Rahman Cup
Uber Cup (Women)
Lawn Tennis Barna Bellack Cup
Davis Cup
Grand Prix
Jaylaxmi Cup (Women’s)
Rajendra Prasad Cup
Rajkumar Cup (Junior boys)
Rajkumari Cup (Junior girls)
Ramanujan Trophy
Thant Cup
Travancore Cup (Women’s)
Wightman Cup
Wimbledon Trophy
Table Tennis Barna Bellack Cup
Corbillion Cup
Corbitton Cup (Women)
Jaylaxmi Cup (Women’s)
Rajkumar Cup (Junior boys)
Rajkumari Challenge Cup
Rajkumari Cup (Junior girls)
Ramanujan Trophy
Swaythling Cup (Men)
Table Tennis Grand Prix
Travancore Cup (Women’s)
Polo Ezra Cup
Maharaj Prithi Singh Baria Cup
Prithi Singh Cup
Radha Mohan Cup
Westchester Cup
Golf Canada Cup
Colombo Cup
Eisenhower Cup
Prince of Wales Cup
Ryder Cup
Walker Cup
Basket Ball Bangalore Cup
Todd Memorial Trophy
Williams Cup
Weight Lifting Burdwan Cup


Air Racing Best Service in Sportsman
Jaswant Singh Trophy
Jawaharlal Challenge
Boat Racing(Kerala) Nehru Trophy Boat Race

International Sports Cups and Trophies

In this list, we have mentioned all the important International Sports Trophies and Cups. Some of the questions from this list have already been asked in Government Exams.

Cups And Trophies Sports Name
American Cup Yacht Racing
The Ashes Test Crickets (England & Australia)
Colombo Cup Football (India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, And Myanmar )
Corbillon Cup World Table Tennis (Women)
Davis Cup Tennis (Men)
Lord Derby Cup Rugby
Billi Jean King Cup Tennis (Women)
Holker Trophy Bridge
Jules Rimet Trophy World Football (Soccer)
Merdeka Cup Football (Asian Cup)
Ryder Cup Golf (Men)
Solheim Cup Golf (Women)
Sudirman Cup Badminton
Sultan Azlan Shah Cup Field Hockey (Men)
Swaythling Cup World Table Tennis (Men)
Thomas Cup Badminton (Men)
Tunku Abdul Rahman Cup Asian Badminton
U. Thant Cup Lawn Tennis
Uber Cup Badminton (Women)
Yonex Cup Badminton
Walker Cup Golf
Wightman Cup Tennis (Women)
William Jones Cup Basketball
Wimbledon Trophy Tennis
Prudential  World Cup Cricket

National Sports Cups and Trophies

In this list, we have mentioned some of the important National Sports Trophies and Cups. Candidates preparing for government exams can expect one or two questions from this section.

Sports Cup And Trophies Sports
Beighton Cup Hockey
Ezra Cup Polo
Deodhar Trophy Cricket
Dhyan Chand Award Lifetime Achievement Sporting Honour in India
B. C Roy Trophy Football (National Junior)
Duleep Trophy First Class Cricket
Durand Cup Football
Guru Nanak Dev Gold Cup Hockey
Z. R. Irani Cup Cricket
Maharaja Ranjit Singh Gold Cup Hockey
Murugappa Gold Cup Hockey
Nehru Trophy Boat Race
Nizam Gold Cup Horse Racing
Rangaswami Cup Hockey (National Championship)
Ranji Trophy Cricket (National Championship)
Rovers Cup Football
Santosh Trophy Football
Sheesh Mahal Trophy Cricket
Subroto Mukherjee Cup Football
Vittal Trophy Football
Vijay Hazare Trophy Cricket
Vizzy Trophy Cricket
Yadavindra Cup Hockey

Some Important Cups and Trophies- Candidates who are curious to know the history and background of some famous cups and trophies. Here we are feeding your curiosity by giving you interesting details about some famous trophies.

Ranji Trophy

Ranji Trophy played in the domestic cricket championship.  It is played between teams from different regions and states of India. Ranji Trophy is named after the Indian Cricketer, Ranjitsingh ji who has played international cricket. There are a total of 38 teams that play the Ranji Cricket Tournament. The first match was played between Madras and Mysore on 4th November 1934.

Aga Khan Trophy

The first Agha Khan Trophy was started by Aga Khan III in 1926. This trophy was first presented in the jumping Competition in Ireland. Switzerland won Aga Khan Trophy thrice in the years 1926, 1927, and 1930.

Beighton Cup

Beighton Cup is one of the oldest cups in the History of Hockey. In the beginning, it was organized by the Indian Football later the Calcutta Hockey League took over it in 1905.

Davis Cup

Davis cup is named after American collegian Dwight Filley Davis. He arranged the first tennis match between the USA and Great Britain. The first match of the Davis Cup was played in 1990. Davis cup was initially known as the International Lawn Tennis Trophy.

Dhyan Chand Award

Dhyan Chand Award is given for Lifetime Achievement in Sports. This award was named after the Indian hockey player Dhyan Chand also called Hockey Magician. He holds a record of more than a thousand goals in his Hockey career. Shahuraj Birajdar (Boxing), Ashok Diwan (Hockey), and Aparna Ghosh (Basketball) were the first recipients of the Dhyan Chand Award in 2002.

FIFA World Cup

The FIFA World cup was started in 1930. Initially, Jules Rimet Trophy was given to winners from 1930 to 1970 then Jules Rimet Trophy was stolen and it hasn’t been found till date. In 1974, a new FIFA world cup trophy was introduced and it’s still presented to winners of the FIFA World Cup.

Thomas Cup

Thomas Cup was founded in 1939 by Sir George Thomas for a series of men’s international team competitions to be managed by the International Badminton Federation (IBF), of which Sir George Thomas was president. The first tournament was held in the year 1948 and won by the Team of Malaya. Initially, these tournaments are held every three years but from 1982 till the present these tournaments are held every two years. Indonesia has become the most successful team, by bagging the cup thirteen times.

Fed Cup

Fed Cup was launched in the year 1963 to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the International Tennis Federation (ITF). It now becomes the world’s largest annual international team competition in women’s sport. In the year 2020, a total of 116 nations participated. Fed cup was Initially known as Federation Cup from 1963 to 1995.

Ryder Cup

The first Ryder Cup was played at the Worcester Country Club in 1927. It is given in golf and played every two years between Europe and the USA.

Durand Cup

The Durand Cup is a football tournament that is held in India and was founded in 1888. Durand cup is named after Sir Mortimer Durand. Royal Scots Fusiliers were the winners of the Durand Cup in 1888.