Indian Polity & Constitution


Indian Polity & Constitution


1.Which one of the following items/Subjects belongs to the Concurrent list of the VIIth Schedule of the Indian Constitution?

[A] Public Health and Sanitation [B] Forests [C] Stock Exchanges [D] Agriculture

Correct Answer: B [Forests]


2.The resolution for removing the Vice-President of India can be moved in :

[A] Lok Sabha only [B] Rajya Sabha only [C] Either of the two houses of the Parliament [D] Joint Sitting of the two houses of the Parliament

Correct Answer: B [Rajya Sabha only]


3.The Department of Border Management is a department under which of the following Union Ministries? [A] Ministry of Defence [B] Ministry of Home Affairs [C] Ministry of External Affairs [D] Ministry of Road Transport and Highways

Correct Answer: B [Ministry of Home Affairs]


4.Which of the following Indian States have a Bicameral Legislature?

1.Uttar Pradesh 2.Bihar 3.Chattisgarh 4.Jammu and Kashmir

[A] 1 and 2 [B] 2 and 4 [C] 1, 2 and 3 [D] 1, 2 and 4

Correct Answer: D [1, 2 and 4]


5.Andaman and Nicobar( Protection of Aboriginal tribes )Amendment Regulation 2012 has been promulgated under Article 240 of the Constitution, which empowers the President to take such measures for the protection of Aboriginal tribes in case of Union Territories. This regulation will protect which of the following tribes?

[A] Onges [B] Shompens [C] Sentilese [D] Jarawas

Correct Answer: D [Jarawas]


6.Who among the following operates the National Disaster Response Fund which was constituted under the Disaster Management Act, 2005?

[A] Prime Minister [B] Union Minister for Home Affairs [C] Union Minister for Parliamentary Affairs [D] Union Minister for Environment and Forests

Correct Answer: B [Union Minister for Home Affairs]


7.Which of the following are among the taxes levied exclusively by the Central Government and are mentioned in the Union List of the Seventh Schedule of the Constitution of India?

1.Corporation Tax 2.Taxes on advertisement in the newspapers 3.Taxes on Agricultural income 4.Taxes on consumption/sale of electricity

[A] Only 2 [B] Only 4 [C] 1 and 2 [D] 3 and 4

Correct Answer: C [1 and 2]


8.The Non-Votable charges or ‘Charged Expenditure’ included in the Union Budget include :

1.Salary and Allowances of the Presiding Officers of the houses of Parliament. 2.Salary and Allowances of the Judges of the Supreme Court and High Courts. 3.Salary and Allowances of the CAG. 4.Pension of the retired Judges of the Supreme Court. 5.Pension of the retired Judges of High Courts. Select the option(s) which is/are correct?

[A] 1 and 2 [B] 1, 2 and 3 [C] 1, 2, 3 and 4 [D] All of them

Correct Answer: D [All of them]


9.Unaided minority institutions have been excluded from the ambit of RTE Act due to which of the following fundamental rights guaranteed by the Indian Constitution:

[A] Article 16 [B] Article 19(1)(c) [C] Article 29 [D] Article 30(1)

Correct Answer: D [Article 30(1)]


10.Which of the following is the largest Lok Sabha constituency (Areawise)?

[A] Arunachal West [B] Ladakh [C] Barmer [D] Kutch

Correct Answer: B [Ladakh]