FIFA World Cup 2018


 What is FIFA World Cup? –

  • FIFA stands for Fédération Internationale de Football Association, abbreviated as FIFA, acts as the global governing body.
  • The FIFA World Cup 2018 is an International Football Competition contested by the various National Teams.
  • This Football World Cup is the most prestigious association football tournament in the world.
  • It is also the most widely viewed and followed sporting event in the world, exceeding even the Olympic Games; the cumulative audience of all matches of the 2006 FIFA World Cup was estimated to be 26.29 billion with an estimated 715.1 million people watching the final match, a ninth of the entire population of the planet.
  • The Host Nation for the 2018 World Cup is Russia and Defending Champion is Germanywinning its fourth title at the 2014 World Cup in Brazil.
  • The FIFA World Cuptakes place every four years since the inaugural tournament in 1930. However, the FIFA World Cup was not held in 1942 and 1946 due to the Second World War.


FIFA 2018 Opening Ceremony –

  • The FIFA World Cup 2018 has started on 14th June 2018.
  • As Russia gets ready to host the prestigious event, fans from all over the world are set to see the prominent superstars in action.
  • Brazilian player Ronaldoand British Pop Star Robbie Williams will be attending the opening ceremony. Robbie Williams will sing alongside Russian soprano Aida Garifullina shortly before Russia face Saudi Arabia in the first match of the FIFA World Cup 2018 at Moscow’s Luzhniki Stadium.
  • The Official Mascotof FIFA World Cup 2018, Zabivaka, is all set to celebrate the opening ceremony.


FIFA Format and Winning History –

  • The format of the competition involves a Qualification Phase. It takes place over the preceding three years to determine which teams qualify for the World Cup. The Host Nation automatically qualifies for the World Cup.
  • Thirty two teams compete in the World Cup for the title at venues within the Host Nation. The FIFA World Cup matches take place during a period of about a month.
  • The 20 World Cup tournaments have been won by 8 National Teams.Brazil have won five times, and they are the only team to have played in every tournament. The other World Cup winners are Germany and Italy, with four titles eachArgentina and inaugural winner Uruguay, with two titles each; and England, France and Spain, with one title each.


Here’s the list of Host Nations and Winners of all the FIFA World Cup.

Year Host Nation Winner
2026 United States
2022 Qatar
2018 Russia
2014 Brazil Germany
2010 South Africa Spain
2006 Germany Italy
2002 Japan Brazil
1998 France France
1994 United States Brazil
1990 Italy West Germany
1986 Mexico Argentina
1982 Spain Italy
1978 Argentina Argentina
1974 Germany West Germany
1970 Mexico Brazil
1966 England England
1962 Chile Brazil
1958 Sweden Brazil
1954 Switzerland West Germany
1950 Brazil Uruguay
1938 France Italy
1934 Italy Italy
1930 Uruguay Uruguay

FIFA World Cup 2018 Groups –

All the competing National Teams will be divided into 8 groups.

Group A Group B Group C Group D Group E Group F Group G Group H
Russia Portugal France Argentina Brazil Germany Belgium Poland
Saudi Arabia Spain Australia Iceland Switzerland Mexico Panama Senegal
Egypt Morocco Peru Croatia Costa Rica Sweden Tunisia Colombia
Uruguay Iran Denmark Nigeria Serbia Korea Republic England Japan

FIFA 2018 Match Fixtures –

Teams Winner Final Score
Russia vs Saudi Arabia Russia 5-0
Egypt vs Uruguay Uruguay 0-1
Morocco vs Iran Iran 0-1
Portugal vs Spain Draw 3-3
France vs Australia France 2-1
Argentina vs Iceland Draw 1-1
Peru vs Denmark Denmark 0-1
Croatia vs Nigeria Croatia 2-0
Costa Rica vs Serbia Serbia 0-1
Germany vs Mexico Mexico 0-1
Brazil vs Switzerland Draw 1-1
Sweden v Korea Republic Sweden 1-0
Belgium vs Panama Belgium 3-0
Tunisia vs England England 1-2
Poland vs Senegal Senegal 1-2
Colombia vs Japan Japan 1-2
Russia vs Egypt Russia 3-1
Portugal vs Morocco Portugal 1-0
Uruguay vs Saudi Arabia Uruguay 1-0
Iran vs Spain Spain 0-1
France vs Peru France 1-0
Denmark vs Australia Draw 1-1
Argentina vs Croatia Croatia 0-3
Brazil vs Costa Rica Brazil 2-0
Nigeria vs Iceland Nigeria 2-0
Serbia vs Switzerland Switzerland 1-2
Belgium vs Tunisia Belgium 5-2
Germany vs Sweden Germany 2-1
Korea Republic vs Mexico Mexico 1-2
England vs Panama England 6-1
Japan vs Senegal Draw 2-2
Poland vs Colombia Colombia 0-3
Uruguay vs Russia Uruguay 3-0
Saudi Arabia vs Egypt Saudi Arabia 2-1
Spain vs Morocco Draw 2-2
Iran vs Portugal Draw 1-1
Denmark vs France
Australia vs Peru
Nigeria vs Argentina
Iceland vs Croatia
Korea Republic vs Germany
Mexico vs Sweden
Serbia vs Brazil
Switzerland vs Costa Rica
Japan vs Poland
Senegal vs Colombia
England vs Belgium
Panama vs Tunisia

FIFA 2018 Knockouts –

Teams Winners
Match 49: Group A winner vs. Group B runner-up
Match 50: Group C winner vs. Group D runner-up
Match 51: Group B winner vs. Group A runner-up
Match 50: Group C winner vs. Group D runner-up
Match 52: Group D winner vs. Group C runner-up
Match 53: Group E winner vs. Group F runner-up
Match 54: Group G winner vs. Group H runner-up
Match 55: Group winner vs. Group E runner-up
Match 56:Group H winner vs. Group G runner-up
Quarterfinal: Match 57 (Match 49 winner vs. Match 50 winner)
Quarterfinal: Match 58 (Match 53 winner vs. Match 54 winner)
Quarterfinal: Match 59 (Match 51 winner vs. Match 52 winner)
Quarterfinal: Match 60 (Match 55 winner vs. Match 66 winner)
Semifinal: Match 61 (Match 57 winner vs. Match 58 winner)
Semifinal: Match 62 (Match 59 winner vs. Match 60 winner)
Third-place match: Match 63 (Match 61 loser vs. Match 62 loser)
Final: Match 64 (Match 61 winner vs. Match 62 winner)