Bank Nationalisation Day: Find out why these banks were nationalised


Currently there are following 19 nationalised banks in India as per the RBI website.

  • Allahabad Bank
  • Andhra Bank
  • Bank of Baroda
  • Bank of India
  • Bank of Maharashtra
  • Canara Bank
  • Central Bank of India
  • Corporation Bank
  • Dena Bank
  • Indian Bank
  • Indian Overseas Bank
  • Oriental Bank of Commerce
  • Punjab & Sind Bank
  • Punjab National Bank
  • Syndicate Bank
  • UCO Bank
  • Union Bank of India
  • United Bank of India
  • Vijaya Bank



Bank Nationalisation Day came into existence ever since 14 banks were nationalised by the government on July 19, 1969. After India got independence, the Government of India (GOI) planned on a systematic economic development of the country.

Commercial banks belonged to the private sector those times. Since these commercial banks were run by business houses, they failed in helping the government in many ways. Hence, the government decided to nationalize 14 major commercial banks.


A second wave of nationalisation in banking came into effect in April 1980.



List of Co-Operative Banks Under IBPS Exam:-

Here below we have provided 22 Co-Operative Banks, under IBPS Exam check List below. Who Participate in IBPS CWE.

  1. Abhyudaya Co-operative Bank Ltd
  2. Akola Urban Co-operative Bank Ltd
  3. Andhra Pradesh State Co-operative Bank Ltd
  4. Apna Sahakari Bank Ltd.
  5. The Bharat Co-Operative Bank Ltd.
  6. Citizen Credit Co-Operative Bank Ltd.
  7. The Cosmos Co-Operative Bank Ltd.
  8. Janakalyan Sahakari Bank Ltd
  9. Kangra Central Co-operative Bank Ltd

10.Kurla Nagrik Sahkari Bank Ltd

11.Latur District Central Co-Operative Bank Ltd

12.The Maharashtra State Co-Operative Bank Ltd.

13.Mumbai Mahanagar Palika Shikshan Vibhag Sahakari Bank Ltd

14.National Co-operative Bank Ltd

15.Rajgurunager Sahakari Bank Ltd.

16.Saraswat Co-operative Bank Ltd

17.The Shamrao Vithal Co-Operative Bank Ltd.

18.Surat People’s Co-operative Bank

19.Thane Janata Sahakari Bank Ltd

20.The Urban Co-operative Bank

21.Vaishya Sahakari Bank Ltd

22.Vidya Sahakari Bank Ltd.


Central Financial Institutions List Under IBPS:-

Here below you can check IBPS Exam, Participating Central Financial Institution:

  • Bharatiya Reserve Bank Note Mudran Pvt. Ltd.
  • Employees’ State Insurance Corporation
  • Export Credit Guarantee Corporation
  • National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development
  • National Payment Corporation of India
  • Reserve Bank of India
  • Securities and Exchange Board of India
  • Small Industries Development Bank of India



Other Public / Private Sector Undertaking and Government Department:-

You may have a glance on list of Public / Private Undertaking and Government Department, which come Under IBPS Exam.

  • Directorate of Accounts & Treasury
  • Directorate of Economics and Statistics
  • Directorate of Forensic Science Department
  • Employees’ Provident Fund Organisation
  • Food and Drugs Administration
  • The Forest Department, Government of Maharashtra
  • Future Learning & Development Ltd.
  • Hindustan Organic Chemical Ltd
  • India Infrastructure Finance Company Ltd.
  • Legal Metrology, Government of Maharashtra
  • MahaGuj
  • Maharashtra Housing and Area Development Authority (MHADA)
  • Maharashtra State Power Generation Company Ltd (MAHAGENCO)
  • Maharashtra State Electricity Transmission Co. Ltd. (MAHATRANSCO)
  • Maharashtra State Khadi and Villages Industries Boar
  • Maharashtra Industrial Development Corporation
  • Maharashtra State Road Transport Corporation Ltd
  • National Institute of Bank Management
  • Public Health Department, Government of Maharashtra
  • Punjab National Bank Housing Finance Limited
  • Steel Authority of India Limited
  • Tribal Development Department, Government of Maharashtra


Regional Rural Banks under IBPS:-

Do you know there are 62 various Regional Rural Banks RRBs, which participates in IBPS Exams every year? Let’s check the list of Regional Rural Banks under Indian Banking Personnel Selection

  • Andhra Pradesh Gramin Vikas Bank
  • Andhra Pragathi Grameena Bank
  • Aryavart Gramin Bank
  • Assam Gramin Vikash Bank
  • Baitarani Gramya Bank
  • Baroda Rajasthan Gramin Bank
  • Baroda Uttar Pradesh Gramin Bank
  • Cauvery Kalpataru Grameena Bank
  • Chaitanya Godavari Gramin Bank
  • Chattisgarh Gramin Bank
  • Chikmagalur Kodagu Grameena Bank
  • Deccan Grameena Bank
  • Durg Rajnandgaon Gramin Bank
  • Ellaquai Dehati Bank
  • Gurgaon Gramin Bank
  • Hadoti Kshetriya. Gramin Bank
  • Haryana Gramin Bank
  • Himachal Gramin Bank
  • Jaipur Thar Gramin Bank
  • J and K Gramin Bank
  • Jharkhand Gramin Bank
  • Kamraz Rural Bank
  • Karnataka Vikas Grameen Bank
  • Kashi Gomti Samyut Gramin Bank
  • Krishna Gramin Bank
  • Langpi Dehangi Rural Bank
  • Madhya Bharat Gramin Bank
  • Maharashtra Godavari Gramin Bank
  • Malwa Gramin Bank
  • Meghalaya Rural Bank
  • Mewar Aanchalik Gramin Bank
  • Mizoram Rural Bank
  • Nagaland Rural Bank
  • Nainital-Almora Kshetriya Gramin Bank
  • Narmada Malwa Gramin Bank
  • Neelachal Gramya Bank
  • North Malabar Gramin Bank
  • Pallavan Grama Bank
  • Pandyan Grama Bank
  • Parvatiya Grameen bank
  • Pragathi Gramina Bank
  • Prathama Bank
  • Puduvai Bhartiya Grameen Bank
  • Punjab Gramin Bank
  • Purvanchal Grameen Bank
  • Rajasthan Gramin Bank
  • Rewa Siddhi Gramin Bank
  • Rushi Kulya Gramya Bank
  • Saptagiri Grameena Bank
  • Satpura Narmada Kshetriya. Gramin Bank
  • Saurashtra Gramin Bank
  • Shreyas Gramin Bank
  • South Malabar Gramin Bank
  • Triveni Kshetriya Gramin Bank
  • Utkal Grameen Bank
  • Uttaranchal Gramin Bank
  • Uttar Bihar Gramin Bank
  • Vananchal Gramin Bank
  • Vidisha Bhopal Kshetriya Grameen Bank
  • Vidharbha Kshetriya Gramin Bank
  • Wainganaga and Solapur Grameen Bank
  • Wainganga and Ratnagiri Grameen Bank


Bank Comes Under IBPS : –

Here below you can check the four categories of bank, which comes under observation of Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS). Check it out:

  • Public Sector Banks
  • Co-Operative Banks
  • Private Banks
  • Regional Rural Banks

IBPS organizes Common Written Examination (CWE) for the appointment of eligible candidates on the posts of Officers and Clerks in Indian banks. CWE is mandatory for qualify to get jobs in 20 public sector and Regional Rural banks.